Antique Map of Portsmouth and Gosport from the Reign of Queen Anne
A rare and charming engraved pictorial map of Portsmouth and Gosport, with dedication to Queen Anne, published c.1710.
Engraved by H. Hulsbergh after James Lightbody
With old hand colouring and inset key to the principal buildings.
Framed & glazed in our studio with conservation materials
Overall dimensions including the frame: 72.5 x 84.1 cm
This early and geographically rather naïve pictorial map depicts Portsmouth clustered around St Thomas' Church (later Portsmouth Cathedral) with the Square Tower and Round Tower clearly visible. Also represented are the naval dockyard, Gun Wharf and Southsea Castle which was then quite separate from the city.
In Gosport, Charles Fort, James Fort and the other defensive ramparts built during the reign of Charles II are evident. 'Captain Flyer's House' is actually a misprint and should read 'Captain Player's House'. Henry Player was an enterprising figure in the town and supplied beer and other victuals to the navy. His grand house stood on the site of the later Clarence Yard, but was acquired by the navy and demolished in the 18th century.
Portchester Castle is referred to as 'Caesar's Fort' - although the ancient structure was built on the orders of the emperor Diocletian around 290 AD. Clearly visible close to Alverstoke are the two seamarks labelled 'The Gilkikers' which were built in 1669 and helped guide ships into the harbour for centuries. The last surviving tower was astonishingly knocked down as recently at 1965 in order to widen Clayhall Road.